tel. 01904 806806 |


Ebor Multi Academy Trust was formed from a merger of Ebor Academy Trust and the Robert Wilkinson Academy Trust. Some of our Trustees and Members joined us from those original trusts and the start dates below reflect that.


Right Reverend Paul Ferguson 
Paul studied music at New College, Oxford. After training as a teacher, he had the opportunity to see closely the daily work and ministry of a parish priest. This led him to Westcott House, Cambridge as an ordinand, taking a theology degree at King’s College. Paul was ordained to a title post in Chester and went on to Westminster Abbey, where he was first Chaplain and then Precentor. In 1995 he came to York Minster as Precentor and Residentiary Canon, and in 2001 was appointed Archdeacon of Cleveland. He was consecrated as Bishop of Whitby in June 2014. Date of commencement as Diocesan Member with Ebor Academy Trust: 1 December 2016.

Andrew Smith
Andrew is the Diocesan Director of Education (DDE) for York Diocese. He is a qualified teacher with over 20 years’ experience in primary education working in York and North Yorkshire. Andrew has also worked successfully in a number of collaborative partnerships, including within Teaching School Alliances and with schools overseas, particularly focusing on developing effective school leadership and shared curriculum development. He currently represents the Diocese of York Educational Trust (DYET) as a corporate member on Multi Academy Trusts and is a director of DBE Services, a consortia of several Church of England dioceses in the north of England. Date of commencement as Diocesan Member with Ebor Academy Trust: 1 December 2016.

Dr Caroline Elbra-Ramsay
As Deputy of the School of Education at York St John University, Caroline has a particular focus on Initial Teacher Education. She works alongside subject directors, course leads, lecturers and school partners to ensure student teachers are professional, reflective practitioners who are ‘classroom ready.’ Caroline has completed a Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice and is a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. Before joining York St John, Caroline was deputy headteacher at a local primary school. Her teaching experience includes Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. Date of commencement as York St John University Member with Ebor Academy Trust: 12 January 2020.

Richard Thompson
Richard studied mathematics at Lincoln College, Oxford before a career in the railway industry. Since taking early retirement, he has become a trustee for the Strensall based Wilkinson, Cobb and Hodgson Trust and is currently its secretary and treasurer. He was a director of the Robert Wilkinson Trust, chair of its finance and staffing committee and a member of the curriculum, development and wellbeing committee. Date of commencement as WCHT Member with Ebor Academy Trust: 1 December 2016.

Janet Mountain
Janet worked in the NHS in various administrative, management and project management roles. She completed her career as the Events Manager at York Hospital, dealing with a wide range of communication and recognition events. Janet has wide experience in assessing organisations to a set number of objectives. She has been a part-time tutor at both the College of Arts and Technology and at the University of York and assisted in the interviewing process for the University’s York Award. In her private life Janet is a practising Christian and authorised Lay Minister at her local church. She undertook a course of study to gain her theological qualification and has been in church leadership for many years. Janet is currently the chairman of the Parochial Church Council. Date of commencement as WCHT Member with Ebor Academy Trust: 1 February 2024.